The alphabet of the heart.

    May 16, 2016


    Alphabet of the Heart, by Dr. James Doty, professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at Stanford University and the director of CCARE, Center for Compassion and Altruism Research and Education.


    C=Compassion. Recognizing the suffering of another with a desire to alleviate that suffering…beginning with ourselves.

    D=Dignity. It needs to be acknowledged and recognized in every person.

    E=Equanimity. Evenness of temperament even during difficult times.

    F=Forgiveness. The greatest gift to give to another and ourselves.

    G=Gratitude. The recognition of the b lessing that our life is – – even in pain and suffering.

    H=Humility. Only when we look at another as equals can we truly connect.

    I=Integrity. Intention. Defining values most important to us.

    J=Justice. Recognition that within each of us there lives a desire to see that right be done. Seek justice for the vulnerable, care of the weak, give to the poor.

    K=Kindness. A concern for others as an active component of compassion.

    L=Love. It is love that contains all virtues. It is love that holds our humanity.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    Clean Web Design